comment 0

No time to wash your hair? No worries!

Dry Shampoo!

Let me tell you, this changed my life. I heard about it from a friend when I was complaining about my hair and how I hadn’t had time to wash it [wah,wah]. So I bought some dry shampoo and it worked – although I smelt like old grannie talc.

One day I looked at the chemical list and it was slightly horrifying, so I went onto Pinterest [my go to for any emergency] and stumbled across this recipe from The Thrifty Couple . I mixed up a small amount, being the cautious type. It worked! I smelt a little like a cookie for about 20 minutes and the grease stayed away for an entire work day. It’s a miracle! I now have a pot of ready made DIY dry shampoo sitting on my vanity.

I used their recipe for medium toned hair, but I left out the essential oil as I don’t have any kicking around.

Dry Shampoo for Medium Tone (Dark Blonde or Light Brown Hair)

Ingredients:

1/2 C unsweetened cocoa
1/2 C baking soda
1 C corn starch
4 drops of essential oil for a natural fragrance and aromatherapeutic benefits
Container with a lid

Directions:

-Combine the corn starch, baking soda and unsweetened cocoa in the container.
-Put the lid on and shake well.
-Add the essential oil and shake again.

Leave a Reply

